Home is wherever I’m with you

I’ve been in Texas two months now and once again I’m making a home in an unfamiliar place. I’ve got an apartment, a job, and I’m making new acquaintances. I’ve spent the last six weeks decorating my home, the last five weeks working, and the last four studying for my teaching certificate – which is paying off, I’m now Highly Qualified to teach ESL here.

One thing I’m not doing is traveling. And after years of constantly moving about, it feels weird to be stationary. I traveled down to Glen Rose in February to spend my birthday at Dinosaur Valley State Park, I shopped in Dallas, and I, of course, now live in Fort Worth, but that’s as far as my exploits have taken me.

And you know what? It’s not so bad. Yes, I wake up most mornings just itching to hop a plane and head somewhere new – I’ll probably always have that impulse. But I have to admit, I don’t hate having a home. And not just one I can carry on my back! Here’s my confessional time: I’m a nester. I like to nest. And I’ve found inordinate joy decorating my apartment and knowing I won’t have to leave it any time soon.

And any time I really crave having an adventure just around the corner, I remind myself that getting into my car each day and seeing if it still runs is an adventure! My Caddy leaks oil, has coolant issues, and was recently hit in a hit-and-run. But you know what, she’s mine, and I love having the freedom to drive again.

Any time I find myself craving exotic foods, I remind myself that I live in DFW! There are restaurants everywhere, serving every kind of food imaginable! And better yet, I don’t have to go to a restaurant to have cultural foods – I can simply make it myself! Because for the first time in two-and-a-half-years, I have a well-stocked kitchen and fridge.

And finally, I’m not spending my days stuck in a dead-end job I hate. I’m working toward a goal…a goal that will get me where I want to be – back abroad. I’m currently working as a substitute teacher and I recently enrolled in an alternative certification program here in Texas. I spend my current free-time studying for tests to certify me to teach ESL, Special Education, and Early Childhood through Grade 6. By the end of the 2015-2016 school year (during which I hope to be a full-time, paid, probationary teacher), I’ll be a fully-certified teacher.

Which means I’m looking at a long-term return abroad starting fall 2016. And in the meantime, haven’t you heard? Teachers get summers off : ) So I’m already making a list of places to visit stateside this summer. And then who knows where Chandler and I will head off to in 2016…

Leave a Reply

