This is how we plan camp

1

I spent this past week in Wondo Genet planning our upcoming summer camp. Before the meeting, we knew the location…Wondo Genet University, and the dates…August 11-17. Looking at everything we’ve decided on since, I’d say we’re pretty set.

I’m co-leading three different session: The very first camp session, Journal Making, where we’ll talk about the importance of journaling and help the kids create their own journals for the purpose of camp. A session the following day that includes a Reader’s Theater, and we’ve narrowed down the book to either Where the Wild Things Are or The Lorax…either way, awesome. And then my final session on Gender Roles and the differences (and SIMILARITIES) between what men and women can do.

I have to say, I’m pretty excited…and in addition to these three sessions, I’ll also be up and on the soccer fields at 6 am every morning co-leading the morning sports (don’t worry, I laughed too). And I’m helping plan the final day’s activity, which will be a massive field day/Olympics/scavenger hunt…be jealous. Oh right, and did I mention I’m also a camp counselor? I’m only spending one night in the girls’ cabin, but I’ll be with my group every day! So basically, this camp will probably kill me. But if it doesn’t, it could very well be my favourite week in Peace Corps.

2

In addition to the camp planning, we also toured the university and some of us went on an evening hike. I already knew that Camp Wondo Genet was going to have some of the best counselors, but I didn’t expect the campus to be as breathtaking as it is. I’d seriously consider relocating there if I wasn’t so attached to the juice I drink here in Hawassa : )

But seriously, I was a little shaky on how I felt about camp before this meeting and now I’m 100% on board. I just hope the kids have as much fun as we do!

3

Leave a Reply

