It’s like I never left Minnesota…

We just got our site announcements, and my mind is still reeling. I finally know where I’ll be spending my next two years: Hawassa, Ethiopia. Surreal. And I have so much to be excited about! Hawassa is the capital of the Southern Nations and Nationalities and People region and contains 45 nationalities, ethnic groups, and tribes.

Hawassa is best known for it’s beautiful lake, which we can’t swim in for fear we’ll get Schistosomiasis, but I’m still excited for the view : ) I wonder if it’ll remind me of home? Hawassa is 1,708 m above sea level and will have a “warm” temperature (I’m hoping that doesn’t mean incredibly hot, but from what I’ve heard, it’s a pretty spectacular place). I’ll also have plenty to eat – hooray! – because Hawassa has a ton of fruits and vegetables.

I’ll be working at Adare Primary School and the five other schools in my cluster. Apparently Adare is a recent establishment and most of the compound is sandy and lacking in trees for shading – bring it on. The school currently has a student population of 1,538 (611 boys and 927 girls) and there are 46 teachers in all (16 male and 30 female).

These are the “primary needs and expectations of the schools for PCV support:”

  • English club support
  • Teacher in-service training support
  • Lesson planning support

I really hope I can do this! I’m definitely going to give it my best shot! And there are three current PCVs in Hawassa already, so I’m excited to get to know them, as well as hang out with all the awesome PCTs who will be in towns around mine. (Luckily, I live in my region’s hub city so I should get to see everyone often when they come in for supplies!)

This is really happening! And I’m headed to Hawassa this weekend to check it out. I’ll let you all know how it goes!

June 30, 2012

One thought on “It’s like I never left Minnesota…

Leave a Reply

